It’s May everybody! Wherever you are in the world, I hope you’re having a great start to this month. (And if not, don’t worry. There’s still plenty of days to catch up!)

April’s book theme, Books about Writing, received a great response from you guys! In case you missed it, I spent the month sharing a selection of my favourite writing books. Feel free to check them out if you haven’t already!

And, though it took me a while, I finally brushed up my Goodreads profile. There, I will post abridged versions of my book reviews, as well as keep you up-to-date on books I am currently reading. Which leads me to…

May’s Book Review Theme

It’s time to set aside the non-fiction for now, my fellow book-nerds. This month on Why Words Work, I’m giving you a theme with a little more flair.

We’re talking danger.

We’re talking risks.

Yes! Ladies, Gentlemen and Others, this month’s book theme is…

Lovable Rogues!

18260946_784228588401485_2109801592_o

For this month, my book reviews will be focused on books with a lovable rogue – or lovable rogues – as the central protagonists. Murder, action, heists, betrayal: These books have it all.

Six of Crows

The Crown Tower

The Good Thief’s Guide to Paris

The Devil in the Marshalsea

AND

The Last Confession of Thomas Hawkins!

18261099_784228815068129_192065437_o

You love to hate them.

You hate loving them.

A lovable rogue is my favourite archetype in fiction. Especially when they are the central character. As the reader, you have no choice but to see the world through their eyes. They might be selfish, crude, cynical or sinister. But a good lovable rogue story will have you arm in arm with them to the end.

So strap yourselves in, my fellow word-nerds. It’s time to get dangerous!

ONE MORE THING!

Alongside a few Writing Confessions and Articles I have planned this month, I will also be starting Speculative Sundays!

Every Sunday, I will be reviewing a book from my favourite genre: Speculative Fiction.

Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Magic Realism. It’s going to be a real mixed bag. But what, exactly, am I reviewing?

Well. Come back next Sunday and find out. 😉

 

